top of page
  • Writer's pictureLoretto Leary

Short Story Getting Published

Delighted to let you all know that my short story Billet-Deux has been accepted for publication by The MacGuffin and is currently slated to appear in Volume 35.2


Billet-Deux is a romantic comedy. The story is based on a newspaper article I read in England a few years ago about online dating. The woman the article was based on said she was too good looking and well-kept to date men her own age. Her "upkeep" and rules for online dating struck me as hard work and very convoluted. But then I began to question why I was judging another woman. I still struggle with the notion of throwing away the hair dye and just going grey. Why is that such a big deal? Is there a difference between aging gracefully and "letting yourself go?"


Is the balance in men's favor as we get older?


I decided to write a Cinderella type story for grown-ups that would create a debate. Having shared the original draft in my writer's workshop class five years ago I can tell you that it certainly did incite a lengthy debate about what women have to do as we age and what men have to do. The balance is slightly off, and definitely in men's favor.



41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page